Great North share The Golden Age album details and video for ‘Better Days’

Kiwi folk duo Great North share the tracklist for their long-awaited fourth LP The Golden Age (out 20 October) and the explosive new video for the track ‘Better Days’, made in New Zealand by director Benj Brooking.

“It was really tough coming up with a video that suited ‘Better Days’,” says Great North frontman Hayden Donnell.

“The song is so bittersweet and nostalgic, it made it hard to think of a concept that wasn’t just like ‘old people relive their glory days and then die’. We had to work hard to find a more subtle way of talking about how we romanticise the disappearing past.

“I’m so happy with what we arrived at with Benj. This video combines two of the things I love most in the world – cakes from the Australian Women’s Weekly Children’s Birthday Cake Book and on-screen explosions.

“Nearly every 90s child in New Zealand would have had a cake from that cookbook or been at a party where one was served. Every parent will remember making one. I’m so happy to take their precious memories and literally destroy them onscreen in the name of art.”


The Golden Age tracklisting

  1. Things We Never Did
  2. Better Days
  3. Gasoline
  4. The Golden Age
  5. Until The Road Runs Out
  6. Good Company
  7. Wasted So Much Time
  8. Hallelujah For The Losers
  9. Some Kind Of Redemption
  10. The Late Bus Home
  11. Waiting For The Pentecost

Related posts

<strong>WATCH: 1 Drop Nation release video for single  ‘I’m Home’</strong>

WATCH: 1 Drop Nation release video for single  ‘I’m Home’

This NZ Music Month Ōtautahi six-piece 1 Drop Nation released their anthemic roots-reggae single ‘I’m Home’ - now they’ve released a fun, feel-good music video for the track! Made by Whisko Creative, the video perfectly fits the feel-good vibe of the single - featuring the band with whānau...

<strong>Fresh Kiwi: Dillastrate’s epic new single  ‘I’m Crazy’

Fresh Kiwi: Dillastrate’s epic new single  ‘I’m Crazy’

Ōtautahi’s talented duo Dillastrate have today released their epically emotive and absurdly catchy new single ‘I’m Crazy’. Up-tempo, fun and very danceable, ‘I’m Crazy’ has hints of 70s funk, soul and Anderson Paak influence. Drawing the listener in from the first drum fill to the last vocal...

<strong>WATCH: ‘Tiny Days’ by Mel Parsons + NZ Tour Dates</strong>

WATCH: 'Tiny Days' by Mel Parsons + NZ Tour Dates

The award-winning Mel Parsons has today unveiled the heartwarming new single ‘Tiny Days’, alongside a gorgeous accompanying video. A nod to working parents of the world, the song lands just ahead of Mother’s Day and marks the start of a three-date New Zealand tour. As one of Aotearoa’s...