Back to Mine – Nightmares on Wax ft. Fat Freddy’s Drop and Ladi6

Back to Mine – Nightmares on Wax ft. Fat Freddy’s Drop and Ladi6

The iconic album series Back to Mine returns in 2019, to mark its 20th anniversary, with the indomitable Nightmares on Wax, to share his personal collection of music for afterhours grooving. The series was renowned for its eclectic selection and selectors which inludes some of the biggest names in electronic and pop music, from the likes of Faithless to Pet Shop Boys, Groove Armada to New Order. 

Building on Back to Mine’s heritage for quality this edition comes as limited-edition heavyweight vinyl and extra thick cardboard sleeve with full coloured bespoke artwork, commissioned from illustrator Rich Fairhead, depicting the artist’s influences alongside personal sleeve notes from Nightmares on Wax. 

The collection includes three exclusive tracks: one new track from Nightmares on Wax, along with a remix from the man himself of seminal band Fat Freddy’s Drop, and brand-new project Creative Principle. The album is impeccably mixed and blended, as you’d expect from a DJ and collector of George’s pedigree. His selection includes a strong representation from his roots in Northern England. Opening with respected Manchester soul duo Children of Zeus, Hull’s Steve Cobby provides his own ‘Lefthanded Books’ featuring Crazy P’s Danielle Moore, and also introduces his chuggy-disco project Chieftain. There’s also room for the recent Nightmares on Wax single ‘Look Up’. Moving internationally; there’s Greek producer Dim Zach who doffs a cap to Imagination on the synth-heavy ‘Innocence’, US-born/Colombian based Afro/Latin/disco/funk producer Bosq, Italy’s Massimo Vanoni with the slo-mo funk ‘Exciting Groove’, the deep and jazzy ‘Gotta Have It’ by Berlin’s SoulPhiction side project SBM, and two tracks by New Zealander Ladi6.

This first re-instalment of Back to Mine is a triumphant return for the iconic and music loved series. Nightmares on Wax delivers an incredible selection of tracks that gives the listener a real insight into the artist’s personal and extensive taste. To coincide with the series release, Nightmares on Wax will embark on an extensive Back to Mine worldwide DJ tour which sees the producer touch down in various cities across Europe and USA, including six dates in the UK.

“I always hoped that when the time was right, I would be asked to do a Back To Mine release and so when the call came there was absolutely no hesitation”. – Nightmares on Wax.


A1. Children of Zeus – Fear of a Flat Planet (feat. LayFullStop)
A2. Ladi6 – Ikarus
A3. Creative Principle – Caught in the Middle
A4. Bosq ft. Induce – Step into Midnight (Disco Stepper)
B1. Massimo Vanoni – Exciting Groove
B2. Nightmares on Wax – Good Ship (Feat. Steve Spacek)
B3. Dim Zach – Innocence
B4. Ladi6 – Royal Blue (Silent Jay, Sensible J and Leigh Fisher Remix)
C1. Chieftain – Out of My Life (Instrumental)
C2. Steve Cobby – Lefthanded Books feat. Danielle Moore
C3. Soulphiction presents SBM – Gotta Have It
D2. Nightmares on Wax – Look Up (Feat. Andrew Ashong & Sadie Walker)
D3. Fat Freddy’s Drop – Russia (Nightmares on Wax Remix)

Loopmasters Sample Music Sale

Related posts

Music Nation TV – Episode 11

Music Nation TV - Episode 11

Th’ Dudes – Live @ Claudelands Arena, Hamilton 2020

Th' Dudes - Live @ Claudelands Arena, Hamilton 2020

There was a definite air of excitement rippling through the crowd, a mixed sense of disbelief and elation the moment had finally arrived to see the true-blue Kiwi pioneers in the flesh.WORDS AND PHOTOS BY JACKO ANDREWSI managed to catch the tail end of support act Racing as they put...

Music Nation TV – Episode 10

Music Nation TV - Episode 10